Link’s Links 1/6/11

Lancelot Link, Secret Chimp

Of grave concern to chimps everywhere–a couple of years ago I heard a story on NPR about a fungus that was destroying banana crops around the world.  This week’s New Yorker has a story about the same.  This fungus is potentially bad enough that it could wipe out an entire banana crop to the point where the Cavendish bananas you find in the supermarket could become scarce.  Once I shared this thing I learned from a national media source with a few people in conversation and a person accused me of making the entire thing up.  He actually relentlessly accused me of bullshitting him while I, and another person sitting with me, pulled up articles about the fungus on our phones. He continued to insist that I was full of shit and even brought it up months later.  So fuck you, you anti-intellectual douchebag.

Of grave concern to those smarter than chimps–For nearly a hundred years students who didn’t have time to finish reading Mark Twain’s Adventures of Huckleberry Finn have faked being offended at the use of the “N-word” to get out of reading it.  Either that or their comprehension skills were severely lacking since Huckleberry Finn is one of the greatest anti-slavery, anti-racism novels ever written.  Professor Allen Gribbon at Auburn University must have been so sick of this excuse that he is publishing a new volume of Huck Finn replacing every “N-word” with the word “slave”.  Now the kids will have to  have the first three chapters read by Friday.

A list of several hundred bands that must be inferior to my band–Yesterday AV Club posted their annual list celebrating the Worst Band Names of 2010.  This is part of what inspired this piece I posted a few weeks ago.  As always, no one has dumber band names than funk and metal bands.  And once you become a funk-metal band the sucktasticisity is overwhelming.

Less snarky link–A couple of days ago I blogged about my fiance and I hitting Melt Bar & Grilled in Cleveland.  The fiance also blogged about it several days ago and provides more information than I did.

Music News

RSS Feeds–I switched to “itrustronfreeman.com” the other day and had someone tell me that it made the RSS feed no longer work and they had trouble starting a new RSS feed for the simple “itrustronfreeman.com”.  I switched back to “itrustronfreeman.wordpress.com” and everything worked again.  Does anybody out there have tips/suggestions/problems/concerns about me switching back?

About ronfreeman42

I'm trustworthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

