To All the Women of Oneida, New York

*I try to post something Monday through Friday but I was sick all weekend and I’m not really up for it today.  When those kind of days happen I’m going to try to post lyrics to one of my songs, a paragraph or two of explanation, and a link so you can listen and sing along if you want.

All of the songs on the Assassins EP are love songs from the perspective of a presidential assassins.  This was the last song I wrote for the EP, and the only one to have been written on banjo. The graphic novel “The Fatal Bullet” by Rick Geary tells the story succinctly and it’s images stay in my head whenever I think of the song.  Charles Guiteau shot James A. Garfield despite having supported him in the election.  Guiteau spent a significant amount of time in the Oneida Community, a religious group that had bizarre sexual practices that Guiteau would have loved to have been a part of.  However, he was kind of a creep and no one wanted to have sex with him.  After killing Garfield he was executed by hanging and his final words were a hymn of his own composition.  This hymn went on long enough that they lost patience and killed him before he finished. “Glory, glory, glory” were his last words.

Charles Guiteau: A man who clearly had crazy eyes.

To All the Women of Oneida, New York
by Ron Freeman

To all the women of Oneida
You’re gonna love me soon
To all the men in high places
Judging all the races
From your smoke filled rooms
You’ll know me too
 

To all the women of Oneida
Keep me in your prayers
Carve my name into silver
Lord, Lord I’ll be delivered
From all the devil’s snares
I’ll be repaired

Glory, glory, glory

To all the women of Oneida
I always loved you most
When I’m swinging from the gallows
Don’t feel any sorrow
When they cut me from that post
I’ll be your ghost

Glory, glory, glory

About ronfreeman42

I'm trustworthy.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

