Heat Without Light

*What better way to celebrate President’s Day than by posting the last song on my band’s Assassins EP, a collection of four love song from the perspective of a presidential assassin.

Of all the songs on the Assassins EP I thought this was the hardest to write as it’s Lee Harvey Oswald’s song and the more I dug into his personal life the more I saw he was a cruel bastard. He had two young daughters at the time of the Kennedy assassination and after that day he never saw them again. They are still alive today and they will occasionally grant anonymous interviews where they recount how they’ve gone to great lengths to prevent the people in their lives from knowing they are Oswald’s daughters. Oswald was an abusive and unloving man and writing a love song from his perspective seemed impossible. In all of these songs I rather fictionalized the hearts of these characters and I probably had to do that the most here. The phrase “heat without light” is lifted from a Flannery O’Connor short story.

Heat Without Light
by Ron Freeman

They caught me inside the theater
In a cheap double feature
It’s a sad cry of battle
Movies bend like forever
Through beat up projectors
Humming over my shoulder

You were home with your mother
She learned from the anchor
Like everyone else
Her tears smelled like cigarettes
On a black and white TV set
Through rabbit ear signals

Now I feel heat without light (x3)

I’m sorry you changed your name
And hid from the cameras
You were beautiful girls
I never got to explain
Why it all happened
Why I let you down

Now I feel heat without light (x3)

I left some money on the table
For you and your sister
I hope you are fine
The grass needs cut every weekend
If I can’t be there
It’ll just have to grow

Buy on Amazon MP3

About ronfreeman42

I'm trustworthy.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

